Scififantasyanimeman’s super awesome Kumoricon 2008 photos.

Hello again blogging and viewing world. This is Scififantasyanimeman and do I ever have a treat for you today. I’m going to show you photos from Kumoricon 2008 and the stories behind them. I hope all of you viewing enjoy them. Note: I am not in any of the pictures.  

People Waiting in line to enter Kumoricon 2008 on Friday night

People waiting in line to enter Kumoricon 2008 on Friday night

  

Here in my home city of Portland, Oregon every Labor day for the past several years there’s been a convention here called, Kumoricon. Kumori by the way is Japanese for cloudy, appropriate considering that Portland gets rained on 8 to 10 months out of the year. Kumoricon is a convention for fans of Japanese animation. I’ve attended for the last three years. Every year I’ve attended my experiences have gotten better and I suspect this year will be no different. But the pictures I’m showing you are from Kumoricon 2008 which was held at the Doubletree Hotel by Lloyd’s Center. I got my hotel room on the Friday evening before the convention started.  After getting my room and a quick bite to eat I went out exploring the hotel. In the course of my wanderings I found myself outside the hotel. Thankfully as with 2007 I chose to register as a VIP which meant I didn’t have to get into any line to get into the convention space. It’s a good thing too, now don’t get me wrong I love talking to people especially anime fans being one myself, and I find my kind fascinating. But well like my parents I don’t have any patience for lines. Another good thing about being a VIP is I got some really sweet swag for my efforts. Anyway while wandering the hotel on Friday I found myself outside the hotel. With the sky above darkening I chose to take this picture of these kind and obliging people who were waiting to get into Kumoricon 2008. Let me say for the record wow,  the line was long, I mean insanely long!  

BEHOLD, The Doubletree Hotel by Lloyd's Center!

BEHOLD, The Doubletree Hotel by Lloyd's Center!

  

Ladies and gentleman this is the hotel where Kumoricon 2008 took place and the hotel where I stayed. I give you the Doubletree Hotel by Lloyd’s Center, named because it was across the street from the shopping mall named Lloyd’s Center. I took this picture across from the hotel and the mall after opening ceremonies. Another advantage of being a VIP is that I managed to get a front row seat for opening ceremonies without having to wait in line. I had no choice in the matter. As a legally blind person I needed to have a front row seat for all the action and I carelessly forgot to bring along my monocular. The hotel itself I can say along with the rooms were impeccably clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the large, wrapped chocolate chip cookies left on my pillows were delicious. There’s another convention that’ll be held later on this year at that same hotel and I’ve already got my room and am  fully registered for the convention. I certainly can’t wait to stay at the Doubletree Hotel by Lloyd’s Center again. By the way note that I know someone who’s married to one of the head honchos at Lloyd’s Center and through them I heard all sorts of funny stories about the shenanigans the anime fans were up to at Lloyd’s Center during the convention. I suspect this year’s Kumoricon will be no different.  

Anime characters in the park

Anime characters in the park

  

There was a park across from the hotel and Lloyd’s center. A lot of anime fans and cosplayers (Costumed anime fans) in between panels at the convention came here to hang out and be with friends. In my wanderings I noted many a fascinating wonder that the fans participated in. I never got involved in any of it as I was content to just sit back and watch. However in the course of my travels through the park area I came across these two young ladies whom I asked politely to pose for a picture. If anybody out there happens to know any of the people who posed for these pictures I’d appreciate it if you could lead them here to this blog site. One of the anime fans, if I’m not mistaken, is dressed as a character from the anime/manga Naruto. The other I’m not so sure but oh well. The important thing is that I’m grateful to them for posing for my camera. This year I hope to take more pictures of cosplayers outside in a nice park area.  

My e-mail buddy paladinelric, of the Risembol Rangers!

My e-mail buddy Paladinelric, of the Risembol Rangers!

  

This rather glum looking fellow here is my e-mail buddy. For security reasons I’ll refer to him as Paladinelric. He and I met at Kumoricon 2007 and again at Kumoricon 2008. During that time I got his e-mail address then summarily lost it (Really brilliant on my part, note the dripping sarcasm). A short time ago I found it again and got back in contact with him. Ironically what started me on finding him was when I quite by accident came across some stuff from his Youtube account, PaladinCecil’s channel. There I found out he’s been to all sorts of anime cons up and down the west coast. Not only that but he knows all sorts of stuff about Major League Baseball. I’m on his site featured in some games called Story, Story, Die. The reasons behind the game being called such will become clear if you watch them. He’s also a member of a fan club called the Risembol Rangers. They’re a fan group for voice actor, Vic Mignogna (Pronounced: Men-yah-nuh). For Kumoricon 2008 he dressed up as Judas from Tales of Destiny 2. He’s also hosted several panels I unfortunately missed. This year however I’m planning on attending as many of his panels as I can. I can’t wait to see my e-mail buddy in person.  

The legendary Saxaphone Guy and a friend.

The legendary Saxaphone Guy and a friend.

  

In the universe of Kumoricon there are many tall tales and legendary figures. No figure stands quite so tall and proud as the legendary Kumoricon hero, the saxaphone Guy. His muse leads him to play melodies from any number of anime series and anime CRPGs (Computer Role Playing Games). His keen notes can either sooth the savage beast or stir up a crowd for a grandiose event. Truly this is a fellow who knows his craft as a musician. I unknowingly got a picture of him and a friend of his as I wandered the hotel halls seeking my next panel. I hope to see him again at this year’s Kumoricon as he always knows what to play to entertain his fellow anime fans. I’ve actually seen him at the three Kumoricons I’ve attended in my time. As I said I’m hoping to see him again. I’m planning on giving him an old fashioned high five and seeing if he can play the opening theme to to the anime, Outlaw Star. Though he is but one of the many legendary characters around the convention space he is certainly one who is respected and loved by all for the fine musical notes that flow from his magical saxaphone.   

Richard Epcar and Ellyn Stern-Epcar

Richard Epcar and Ellyn Stern-Epcar

  

Here is the first of my three celebrity photos. This gentleman in the picture is named, Richard Epcar. He’s a voice actor whose credits include, Myotismon from Digimon, Bo-bobo from the insanly random anime Bobobobo-bo-bobo, and Bato from Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex and 2nd Gig. He’s also acted in CRPGs and directed several anime. The lady beside him is his wife Ellyn Stern-Epcar. She’s a voice actress as well.  Her credits include Yew’s mother from the anime series Noein. I insisted on taking a picture of them together because I’ve always believed in family or in this case couple togetherness. I can tell you they are two of the nicest people I’ve met and I got both of them to sign my programming guide. I once saw the two have a brief interaction as she was leaving and he was about to do a panel. During their brief lover’s conversation I could tell that everything about them and the words spoke of this truth,  “This is a relationship that works.”. I hope these two stay married all the days of their lives and I hope to someday to see them again.   

Producer: Tommy Yune

Producer: Tommy Yune

  

This Asian gentleman here is named, Tommy Yune. He’s involved in the anime industry though he’s not an actor. He’s actually a producer. He’s done work on the original Robotech series and more recently produced a movie from that anime universe called Robotech: The Shadow Chronicles. I have that movie on DVD and I can tell you no matter what store you get it from it’s well worth it. This movie was an excellent addition to the Robotech universe. As for Tommy Yune himself he is also a generous man who I got to sign my programming guide as well as get a picture from. A funny thing, when I told him I was a black belt in Taekwondo he mentioned that he has relatives who also do that particular martial art. Tommy Yune is truly an excellent producer and one whom I think will only become more prominent in the years to come. I hope to see him again in the future as well.  

The pride of Oregon, Kirk Thornton

The pride of Oregon, Kirk Thornton

  

Ladies and gentleman, for my last celebrity photo, I present a man who is truly a credit to the Portland area and the great state of Oregon voice actor/director Kirk Thornton.  It should be noted that in his past Mr. Thornton has done work with the Oregon Shakespeare festival in Ashland, Oregon. Yeah that’s right this guy’s got stage credit.  He was also raised in Beaverton, Oregon. In the anime world his voice acting credits include, Jin (Pronounced: Gene) from Samurai Shamploo, Don Patch from Bobobobo-bo-bobo, and Kuze (Pronounced: Koo-zay) from Ghost in the Shell: second Gig. He’s also been in a number of CRPGs and directed several anime series. As I told him once, “Always a pleasure to see a fellow Oregonian who’s made it big.”  He would beg to differ being the genuinely humble fellow he is. Everytime he comes to Kumoricon he always brings his wife along. Another great example of couple togetherness, I must get him and his wife in a picture if I can. I managed to get a picture of him and got him to sign my programming guide. He’s going to be at Kumoricon again this year and I can’t wait to see him and hear about what he’s done.  

Good looking, cat-eared maid Mee-yow!

Good looking, cat-eared maid Mee-yow!

  

I may be a shy guy but I definitely have an eye for the ladies.  This lovely lady right here is a staff member. As you can see she’s dressed in a maid uniform and wearing cat ears (The crafted kind). I may not completely understand why some people wear these things, I myself won’t deter people from wearing them if it suits their fancy. In this case on this lady the cat ears most certainly added an appeal to this elegant young lady’s look. As I recall a number of the female staff were wearing cat ears and maid uniforms. This lady in particular caught my keen eye and I’m most gracious to her for posing for this picture. As with all my subjects if anyone out there knows who these people are if you could kindly lead them here I’d greatly appreciate it.  

A Group Photo

A Group Photo

  

By Monday I was feeling exhausted and my money supply was low from a wonderous weekend of fun and frolicks. I was so beat I decided to forgo the closing ceremonies to go home. However on my way out I decided to fill up my digital camera as best I could so I stopped several groups of anime cosplayers to get a photo of them. I will admit it had been my plan to put all these pictures on my Taekwondo school’s website. Things however didn’t work out quite the way I’d hoped. But now that I’m on WordPress.com I can finally fulfill my vow and show these Kumoricon pictures to you out there in this great big world. And with these show you the wonder and power of Japanese animation. As I’ve so often stated I will always be grateful to those who were kind enough to pose for these pictures and I hope I’ll get the chance to take more this year at Kumoricon.  

Let's cuddle.

Let's cuddle.

  

Here’s another of the three photos I took Monday on my way out. As I was passing through the lobby of the hotel. Mind you I paid with my debit card so I got the bill for my stay charged to my checking account that morning, very handy, eh? Anyway while passing through the lobby this couple of cosplayers caught my eye and so I just had to get a picture of them. I’m not exactly sure what anime characters they’re supposed to be but they kind of remind me of Raggedy Anne and Andy.  From the look in the photo they appear to be happily cuddling up with one another. Ah the things anime cosplayers will do to get shot on camera. It makes my goal of filling up my chip that much easier. Such is the life of an anime fan and aspiring writer.   

Mind your manners...or else!

Mind your manners...or else!

  

Here’s the final shot from Kumoricon I got. I was almost to the waiting station for MAX, Portland’s Light rail system to begin my journey home when I happened upon this pair of young ladies wandering around. As lovely looking as this pair of female cosplayers are you’d better mind your manners around them. It’s well known that if you get on the bad side of a female in anime you will end up sore all over from the beat down you receive.  And these cosplayer ladies are most certainly no exception to the rule. I took this picture by the park. Even as I left prior to closing ceremonies I saw there were still anime cosplayers  hanging  around. Boy these people are very dedicated and that’s why I love being around anime fans so much.   

Well that’s all of my photos. I really must get a bigger GB chip so I can take more pictures for Kumoricon 2009. On the subject of which you should know that Kumoricon 2009 will be held at the Hilton Hotel and Executive Tower in downtown Portland, Oregon. The hotel by the way is a block from Pioneer Courthouse Square if you’re looking for a landmark to go by. Just be careful there’ll be lots of traffic downtown this year. The convention is Labor Day weekend September the 5th through the 7th.  This is going to be loads of fun as I intend to go VIP again, meet more guests, attend more panels, take more pictures,  and even be involved in a panel this year. I strongly suggest getting a Hotel room and/or registered while there’s still space. And before I go I’d like to send a shout out to all the anime fans out there who like me love manga and Japanese animation so much and work hard to keep it alive. You rock all of you and I hope I’ll see you at Kumoricon 2009.  

(Author’s note: Thanks to my E-mail buddy Paladinelric for pointing out that his character is really Judas from Tales of Destiny 2 and not a character from D-Gray man.)

~ by scififantasyanimeman on 08/06/2009.

3 Responses to “Scififantasyanimeman’s super awesome Kumoricon 2008 photos.”

  1. Wow! That sounded like an amazing adventure, Master! And you got some really nifty photos too! Getting to meet all those celebrities who took part in anime series, or even made the mangas, chatting with cosplayers and other fans, and buying some of the best anime and manga merchandise… this is the life! Now I’m wanting to go to an anime convention even more! I wonder if you could find such an anime convention somwhere in Missouri… that’s where I live, by the way. I look forward to reading about more of your adventures. Until then, I’ll keep emailing you!

  2. Hey. How goes it? Those are some awesome pictures that you’ve got. I’ll look forward to seeing you again next month.

    PS: The costume I’m wearing is of Judas from Tales of Destiny 2, not D-Gray Man.

  3. Nice pics! And I think some of those maids might’ve been fans of Tokyo Mew Mew, also known as Mew Mew Power.

Leave a comment